Australia Post builds on architectural heritage

07 June 2013

Australia's oldest Government Houses are being celebrated by Australia Post in a new stamp issue coinciding with the 150th anniversary of Government House in Perth.

The Government Houses of Tasmania, New South Wales, South Australia and Western Australia feature on four domestic base-rate (60c) stamps.

Australia Post Philatelic Manager Michael Zsolt said, "We are pleased to release this first stamp issue in a series of Australian historical architecture. We trust these stamps have captured the beauty of these distinctive and historic buildings."

Government House in Perth is one of the state's most significant properties and this year celebrates its 150th anniversary. Set on more than three hectares of beautiful gardens, it was designed by Lieutenant Colonel (later Sir) E Y W Henderson and completed in 1864. The stamp image is reproduced courtesy of the photographer, Jon Green.

Government House in Hobart was completed in 1857 and is regarded as one of the best Vice-Regal residences in the Commonwealth. Designed in neo-Gothic style by colonial architect William Porden Kay, the building includes exceptional stonework, individually carved sandstone chimney pots and bas-relief sculptures on its exterior. The stamp image is reproduced courtesy of the Office of the Governor, Tasmania.

Government House in Sydney was designed by Edward Blore, architect to King William IV, whose portfolio included work at Buckingham Palace. It is one of the finest examples of gothic revival architecture in NSW. The House was completed in 1845 when the first resident, Governor George Gipps, moved in. The stamp image is reproduced courtesy of Richard Glover and Benjamin Jakabek.

Government House in Adelaide is the oldest continually-inhabited Vice-Regal residence in Australia. The earliest part of the House, the east wing, was completed and occupied in 1840. The east wing was from a design by English architect, Edward O'Brien, which was amended by George Strickland Kingston, the assistant Surveyor-General of South Australia. The stamp image is reproduced courtesy of SALife magazine.

The stamps were designed by Sonia Young of the Australia Post Design Studio.

The products available are a first day cover, stamp pack, maxicard set of four, booklet of 20 x 60c self-adhesive stamps and a roll of 100 x 60c self-adhesive stamps.

The Historical Architecture: Government Houses stamp issue is available from 11 June 2013 at participating Australia Post retail outlets, via mail order on 1800 331 794 and online at while stocks last.

Architectural heritage stamps