50 Years of Racing at Bathurst celebrated by Australia Post

28 September 2012

Car enthusiasts across the country will be in hot pursuit of Australia Post's latest stamp issue celebrating 50 years of the Bathurst endurance race. The stamp issue comprises four domestic base-rate (60c) stamps featuring Peter Brock's Torana, Will Davison's Ford V8 Supercar and Russell Ingall's Holden V8 Supercar racing at Bathurst, and the famous Mount Panorama Motor Racing Circuit.

Mount Panorama will be home to one of the largest sporting celebrations in Australia's history when the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 celebrates 50 years of the event in October this year.

"Australia Post is delighted to mark this milestone in Australia's car racing history. We trust this stamp issue will resonate with car enthusiasts and the general public alike," said Australia Post Philatelic Manager, Mr Michael Zsolt.

"It is a great honour for our sport and the event to be recognised by Australia Post in this way," said David Malone, CEO V8 Supercars Australia.

"Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 is not only one of this country's most iconic events, it is one of the most famous motorsport spectacles worldwide."

The Bathurst 1000 is an annual 1,000 kilometre touring car race, known as "The Great Race" among fans and broadcasters. The event is one of the most viewed and anticipated in the V8 Supercar Championship calendar and is widely regarded as the pinnacle of Australian motorsport.

The race traces its colourful history back to Phillip Island in 1960. It was moved to Mount Panorama in 1963 and its popularity grew rapidly. A renowned sporting venue, the Mount Panorama Motor Racing Circuit attracts sporting fans from everywhere and is ranked among the great race tracks of the world.

The most successful driver in the history of the race is Peter Brock. Brock debuted in 1969 but it was not until 1972 that he won his first of nine Bathurst titles, which eventually led to his "King of the Mountain" title. The Peter Brock Trophy, named in his honour, was introduced at the 2006 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 and is awarded to each Bathurst 1000 race winner.

The stamps were designed by Melbourne-based Sean Pethick from design firm XSD, based on photographs by Mark Horsburgh (Davison's Ford and Ingall's Holden) and Paul Cross (Brock's Torana).

This stamp issue features a limited edition (15,000) postal and numismatic cover (PNC). The PNC presents a 50c Cupro Nickel Uncirculated Royal Australian Mint coin, designed by Daniel Neale.

There will also be a special souvenir pack available, comprising two sheetlets of 20 x 60c stamps and one sheetlet of 10 x 60c stamps featuring the 60c Mount Panorama Motor Racing Circuit stamp. All 50 winners of the Bathurst race are featured in the tab of each stamp including this year's winner. This highly collectable pack will be available after the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 race is held.

The 50 Years Racing at Bathurst stamp products also include a stamp and medallion cover, minisheet, first day cover, stamp pack, self-adhesive booklet of 10 x 60c stamps and a maxicard set of four. The stamps and associated products are available from participating Australia Post retail outlets, via mail order on 1800 331 794 and online at auspost.com.au/stamps from 2 October 2012 while stocks last.

Need car insurance?

Our car insurance policies offer great value.

Find out more